

VISA

GENERAL INFORMATION

All visitors entering Laos must possess valid passports. Visas can obtained from Lao Embassies and Consulates abroad. In addition, visas can also be obtained on arrival at the international checkpoint.

The Lao visas on arrival are available at:

- Lao international airports:
 - Wattay International Airport, Vientiane Capital
 - Luang Prabang International Airport, Luang Prabang province
 - Pakse International Airport, Champasak province
 - Savannakhet International Airport, Savannakhet province
- 🖶 Lao-Thai Friendship Bridges in Vientiane, Thakaek, and Savannakhet,
- Tha Naleng train station in Vientiane,
- International land border crossing points that issue Visa on Arrival:
 - Cambodia Laos: Dong Kralor Veun Kham (links Strung Treng to Champasak province)
 - China Laos: Mohan Boten (Yunnan to Luang Namtha province)
 - Thailand Laos:
 - Chiang Khong Houy Xai (Chiang Rai Province to Bokeo province)
 - Nakaxeng Kaenthao (Loei province to Sayabouly Province)
 - Nong Khai Vientiane (Thai-Lao Freindship Bridge No. 1)
 - o Nakon Phanom Thakhaek (Nakon Phanom prov to Khammouane prov.)
 - Mukdaharn Savannakhet (Mukdaharn prov to Savannakhet prov via Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge No.2)
 - Chong Mek Vangtao (Ubon Rathchathani Prov. to Champassak Prov.)
 - Vietnam Laos
 - Tay Trang- Sobboun (Lai Chau, Vietnam to Pongsaly Province)
 - Nameo Banteui (Thanh Hoa to Huaphanh province)
 - Namkan NamCan (Nghe An to Xiengkhuang province)
 - Keoneua Namphao (Ha Tinh to Bolikhamxai province)
 - Lao Bao Dansavanh (Quang Tri prov to Savannakhet prov)
 - Bo Y Phukeua (Kon Tum prov to Attapu prov)

Who CAN get Laos Visas on Arrival?

Everyone except for citizens of the countries listed under "Who CANNOT get Lao Visa on Arrival?" below.



Who CANNOT get Laos Visas on Arrival?

Effective from 15 October, 2009, travelers holding passports from the following countries are not eligible for Laos Visas on Arrival.

- 1. Afghanistan
- 2. Algeria
- 3. Bangladesh
- 4. Burundi
- 5. Cameroon
- 6. Congo
- Cote d'Ivoire 7.
- 8. Ghana
- 9. Guinea
- 10. Guinea Bissau
- 11. Jordan
- 12. Lesotho
- 13. Liberia
- **14.** Libya (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)
- 15. Mozambique

- 16. Nauru
- **17**. Niger
- 18. Nigeria
- **Pakistan** 19.
- **20.** Senegal
- 21. Sierra Leone
- 22. Sri Lanka
- 23. Suriname
- 24. Syria (Syrian Arab republic)
- 25. Swaziland
- 26. Tonga
- 27. Turkey
- 28. Zambia
- 29. Zimbabwe

According to notice No. 1232 issued on 1 October 2009, by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lao PDR, nationals on the list above must obtain their visas at Lao Embassies or Lao Consulates abroad before entering Laos.

VISA EXEMPTION

Laos has entered into mutual agreements with all ASEAN member countries as well as some non-ASEAN nations to exempt visitors from visas requirements.

For some countries the visa free scheme applies to all type of passports (Diplomatic, Official and Ordinary passport), while for others it only applicable to certain type of passports. The length of stay ranges from 14-90 days depending on the countries.

Here are lists of ASEAN Member Countries with which Laos has reached mutual agreements on visa exemption also for tourist visa. (Lao passport holders can enter these countries visa-free. The same conditions apply): Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

REQUIREMENTS (APPLICATION FOR A TOURIST VISA ON ARRIVAL)

- 4 Your original passport with at least 6 months of remaining validity and a blank page for a visa stamp
- 🖶 A Visa application form must be filled and signed by the applicant (available at visa booth at Lao ports of entry)
- Two (2) recent passport-type photographs.
- Visa fee (cash)